Mungall asks public to decide recipients of Queens Jubilee Medals

Posted in: ,

Creston Advance Editor Brian Lawrence, Kaslo’s JV Humphries principal Dan Miles, MLA Mungall, Salmo Village Councillor Janine Haughton, and Columbia Basin Trust Southwest Community Liaison Rona Park, and .

Nelson – MLA Michelle Mungall is asking residents in the Nelson-Creston riding to vote online or by phone for community members to receive a Queens Diamond Jubilee Medal.  A short listing committee of respected community members has reviewed all the nominations received during the month of August and has narrowed the field to 13. From these 13, the public will vote and choose the final four who will have their names put forward to receive medals.

“Nominations came in from all corners of the constituency, for people from all walks of life” says Mungall  “It was great to read about so many amazing people doing amazing work in the community.” She adds, “I know it was difficult for the short listing committee to choose only 13. “

The short listing committee, representing all regions of the constituency was made up of Salmo Village Councillor Janine Haughton, Creston Advance Editor Brian Lawrence, Columbia Basin Trust Southwest Community Liaison and long-time Nelson resident Rona Park, and Kaslo’s JV Humphries principal Dan Miles.

The online vote will take place September 7 -21, 2012. Residents can learn more about each nominee HERE and then vote online, by phone at 1-877-388-4498, email, or in person at 204- 402 Baker St. Nelson. The person with the most votes from each area –North Kootenay Lake, Nelson and district, Salmo/Ymir, Creston Valley– will be forwarded on to the Queen for a Diamond Jubilee medal that commemorates community service.

Speaking to the short listing process Lawrence said “The decisions were difficult, there were so many worthy nominees, but the selection we came up with represents a great cross section of our communities”

“Our region is blessed to have so many dedicated citizens. I am honoured that the Queen has allowed Members of the Legislative Assembly to be a part of her Diamond Jubilee,” said Mungall.  “I want to thank all those who nominated a local resident and the short listing committee for being a part of these once-in-a-lifetime medals.”

Kaslo/North Kootenay Lake:

Steve Anderson

Bruce Walker

Hugh Walker

Nelson Area:

Gordon Broster

Marg Stacey

Joan Reichardt

Mary Ann Morris



Andrew Raney

Dorothy Hearn

Mary Jean Taylor

Creston Valley:

Phil Thomas

Anne Hepher

Shannon Nickisch